Add: No. 1088 Xueyuan Rd, Xili, Nanshan District, Shenzhen, Guangdong, China Tel: +86-755-8801 0800 ZIP: 518055
Primo provides simple, one-stop searching for books and e-books, videos, articles, digital media, and more.
Introductory Oceanography by
The 10th edition of this popular book continues to provide an excellent foundation in science by examining the vast body of oceanic knowledge. Spanning the disciplines of geology, chemistry, physics, and biology, it allows readers to have a fundamental understanding of how oceans work. Interwoven within the book are hundreds of photographs, illustrations, real-world examples, and applications that make the material relevant, accessible, and entertaining. Well-organized and clearly written, this book covers scientific inquiry and gives an historical look at the study of oceanography; the origins of life, the earth, and the oceans; plate tectonics; marine provinces; marine sediments; water and seawater; air-sea interaction; ocean circulation; waves, tides, and coastlines; biological productivity and the marine habitat; marine resources; and environmental concerns. This book is intended to help readers in their quest to find out more about oceans. Because of its comprehensive scope and excellent resource materials, it can also serve as an excellent reference work for those involved in oceanography.
Oceanography by
Cengage Learning in partnership with National Geographic Society brings course concepts to life with interactive learning, study, and exam preparation tools along with market leading text content for introductory oceanography courses. OCEANOGRAPHY provides a basic understanding of the scientific questions, complexities, and uncertainties involved in ocean use, as well as the role and importance of the ocean in nurturing and sustaining life on the planet. Bestselling author Tom Garrison emphasizes the interdisciplinary nature of marine science, stressing its links to biology, chemistry, geology, physics, meteorology, astronomy, ecology, history, and economics.Whether you use a traditional printed text or all digital Oceanography CourseMate alternative, it's never been easier to better understand the complexities involved in how we study and use the ocean.
Marine Science by
Marine Science: An Illustrated Guide to Science is one of eight volumes in ""Facts On File's"" new ""Science Visual Resources"" set. Containing seven sections, a comprehensive glossary, a Web site guide, and an index, ""Marine Science"" is an ideal learning tool for students and teachers of science. Full-color diagrams, graphs, charts, and maps on every page illustrate the essential elements of the subject, while parallel text provides key definitions and step-by-step explanations. The seven sections include: ""Geography of the Oceans"" - provides an overview of the physical dimensions of the bodies of water that cover 70 percent of Earth; ""Geology of the Oceans"" - examines the geological processes that have shaped Earth's surface and features that are unique to the marine environment. It covers the regions of intense volcanic activity that lie deep beneath the sea, as well as the shifting boundaries between water and land; ""Chemistry of the Oceans"" - explores the nature of seawater with the global cycles that carry vital elements, such as carbon and nitrogen, from the oceans to the atmosphere to the land, and back to the ocean again; and ""Ocean-Atmosphere System"" - details the engines that drive global climate. The cycling of heat from warmer to cooler latitudes, the impact of Earth's rotation on ocean currents, and the daily ebb and flow of the tides are covered in this section. It also includes: ""Biology of the Oceans"" - is an overview of the wealth of plant and animal life that lives in, on, or near the oceans. Food chains stretching from bacteria to blue whales are described, as well as the unique communities that thrive in the pitch black of the deep ocean floor. Every class of animal and plant found in the marine environment is discussed; ""Marine Exploration"" focuses on the human relationship with the sea. It covers the technology that has allowed explorers to span the globe and probe the depths of the ocean. The vital role of marine food sources in the health and wealth of the world is also examined; and ""Marine Economics"" - focuses on the human relationship with the sea. It covers the technology that has allowed explorers to span the globe and probe the depths of the ocean. The vital role of marine food sources in the health and wealth of the world is also examined.
Investigating Oceanography by
This introductory oceanography text is intended to teach students the tremendous influence oceans have on our lives. They are encouraged to look at oceanography as a cohesive and united discipline rather than a collection of subjects gathered under a marine umbrella. Investigating Oceanography teaches students about the historical, geological, physical, chemical and biological characteristics of the ocean environment using remarkable images and photos. The authors have incorporated essays written by several scientists discussing topics in their fields of specialization. In addition to understanding processes and principles, the authors believe students must have a basic command of the language of marine science in order to understand the constant barrage of information concerning our planet and marine issues. By the end of this course, the authors want students to be prepared for future environmental discussions and the ability to make decisions as informed global citizens.
Introduction to the Worlds Oceans by
An Introduction to the World's Oceans, Tenth Edition, is an introductory oceanography text intended for students without a background in mathematics, chemistry, physics, geology, or biology. It emphasizes the role of basic scientific principles in helping understand the processes that govern the ocean and the earth. To keep the text as current as possible, the authors conduct their own research and examine other findings such as analyzing satellite data and large-scale oceanographic programs. From this vast amount of data, they select interesting, relevant, and understandable examples that illustrate contemporary principles of oceanography. An Introduction to the World's Oceans places greater emphasis on the physical and geological aspects of the oceans than on the chemical and geochemical properties, because the latter disciplines require more specific background knowledge. An ecological approach helps integrate the biological chapters with other subjects. Students are encouraged to look at oceanography as a cohesive and united discipline rather than a collection of subjects gathered under a marine umbrella. As with all previous editions, the authors continue to make each chapter stand as independently as possible, so that professors can assign chapters in the order that best suits their classrooms.
Discovering the Deep by
The deep oceans and global seafloor are truly Earth's last frontier. They remain largely unexplored, yet are critical to our survival on this planet. This magnificent, full-color volume transports you to bizarre landscapes hosting exotic life forms that rival the most imaginative science fiction. Starting with a historical summary of seafloor exploration and the developing technologies used to study this extreme environment, it then describes the distinctive geologic components of the Earth's ocean floor and the unusual biological communities found along the mid-ocean ridges. This is an indispensable reference for researchers, teachers, and students of marine science, and a visually stunning resource that will enlighten and intrigue oceanographers and enthusiasts alike. A suite of online resources, including photographs and video clips, combine with the book to provide fascinating insights into the hidden world of seafloor geology and biology using the latest deep-sea imaging and geological concepts.
Seafloor Processes and Geotechnology by
An ideal resource for civil engineers working with offshore structures, pipelines, dredging, and coastal erosion, Seafloor Processes and Geotechnology bridges the gap between the standard soil mechanics curriculum of civil engineering and published material on marine geotechnology. Utilizing organized information on sediments and foundations for marine applications from a variety of sources, it provides practical reference information and approaches for analysis and design. This book provides an understanding of the processes and loadings affecting the sediment/water interface and the sediment column on the continental shelf and slope as well as the abyssal plains. It outlines the geological and geotechnical factors that should be considered in an investigation, and provides practicing professionals with the information they need to analyze potential environmental hazards and problems in marine foundations and slope stability. It covers geology, site investigation, drilling and sampling sediments, material properties, foundation design, slope stability, and more. Exploring marine geotechnology from a historical perspective, this book: Describes the development of marine geotechnology, the marine environment, and the geology of the seabed Discusses the various elements of a site investigation Explains how to investigate a site by remote sensing over the macro scale, probing to look at a more defined area, and drilling and sampling at the micro scale Looks at the physical, acoustic, and geochemical properties of marine sediments at the micro scale Focuses on slope stability and marine foundations Seafloor Processes and Geotechnology provides the background for in situ investigation, drilling, soil sampling, and laboratory testing technologies and serves as a complete handbook for engineers, geologists, as well as marine and environmental scientists.
Encyclopedia of Maritime and Offshore Engineering by
The Encyclopedia of Maritime and Offshore Engineering (EMOE) provides an unparalleled major reference work covering the design, construction and operation of ships, offshore installations and other marine structures used for transportation, exploration and the exploitation of ocean-based resources including oil, gas and renewable energy. It embraces all of the disciplines of engineering and naval architecture that are found in the complementary marine and offshore industries. Advances in ship technology, the growth of the offshore energy sector, and increasing activities in arctic and ultra-deepwater environments all highlight the need for an up-to-date reference work on the proposed scale. Operational and regulatory aspects of maritime industries will also be included. The technical sections are supported by the appropriate theoretical background information: for example, hydrodynamics and numerical analysis methods of fluid and stress analysis. The full editorial team and contributing authors is drawn worldwide from renowned engineers, scientists and practitioners in both the academic an industrial sectors.
By using University ID Card in Room 203 of Yidan Library, patrons can borrow course reserves for up to 4 hours each time.