EndNote: How to add references to EndNote Desktop

Adding References from Online Databases

1. Select the citations you want to save with "Add" button or check box.

2. Find "Export" or "Download Citations" button, and choose "Export to EndNote" or a similar option.

3. If you need to choose from multiple file formats please choose the RIS format, because RIS format can be recognized in different bibliographic management tools.

4. EndNote will usually recognize that your browser is sending citation data and open automatically to save it to your library. 

5. A tip: If you export citations from the Chinese database of CNKI, please go to your EndNote Desktop,click on "File" > "Import" > "File", choose the .txt file you have just downloaded and choose "EndNote Import" from Import Option and press the "Import" button to start uploading.

Adding References by Manually Input Citations

1. In EndNote, find References > New References from the top command bar.

2. Select the appropriate Reference Type, such as "Patent" from the drop-down menu. Remember to enter multiple author names on separate lines. Key in author names either last name first with a comma or first name first (Smith, John / John Smith). 

3. Remember to enter one keyword for one line in separate lines.

Adding References by Importing PDF Files

1. In the EndNote Library, go to "File" and choose "Import";

2. Select "Import File" when importing a PDF file, or select "Import Folder" when importing multiple files;

3. In Import Option,select the PDF option.

4. A tip: PDF files imported into EndNote are identified by DOI. If the DOI numbers are missing in the PDF files, the files will not be recognized by EndNote.

Adding References in EndNote Desktop via Online Search

1. EndNote provides three modes: local library mode, online search mode and integrated mode.

2. Select "Online Search", choose the database you want to search. Click "More" to see more databases embedded in EndNote.

3. Enter search term in Keywords, Author, Title, Address or other fields and click "Search".

4. After the search is completed, you will see the citations of the records. 

5. A tip: Not all databases subscribed by the library are searchable in EndNote. After the search is completed, only the number of results can be viewed, while the abstract of the records cannot be previewed.